Just bc we like being scared

You and I?

You and I, we fight all the time.

May it be over some food, or that girl you were talking to.

You and I, we were never really the sweetest couple around.

We argue over the stupidest topics, and compete over the silliest things.

You and I, we’ve dreamt about the most impossible things.

We’ve dreamt about how you were going to marry me, and how you were going to treat me like a princess.

Impossible, isn’t it?

You and I, we would almost lose each other, all the time, every day.

I would almost lose you, and you would almost lose me.

Almost.

Just because we like being scared.

Just because I like realizing your importance,

and you like realizing mine.

But between the two of us,

someone gave up.

And I’m not so sure if it was me,

or if it was you.

Can we argue about it?

Can we fight about who gave up?

Can we talk and argue for hours, just like how we used to?

“I can’t believe you!”

“Well, guess what? I can’t believe me, too!”

I liked how you would stay quiet when you know it’s your fault,

or how you would give me a grin whenever it’s mine.

“No, I’m gonna eat it!”

“No, I will!”

I liked how we would stay up every night, just because we’re arguing about who gets to choose the show.

And I would win every time.

And I would laugh, and you would pout.

You’d say I’m not fair, that every night it was my choice;

but you still love me, anyway.

“But it was you who chose the show last night! Give me a chance!”

“You lost, and losers get to watch what the winners want” 

I liked how you would always get the last cookie in the cookie jar, and rub in my face that it was the last.

You would laugh and I would protest.

And I’d always have to rush to the store, with you by my side, laughing as I buy, just so I could eat one, too;

but I still love you, anyway.

“I ate the last cookie, and there’s nothing you can do about it!”

“I hate you! I’m gonna buy some and you can’t have any!”

I liked how we would always lie to each other, saying you’re not scared of this, saying I’m not scared of that;

but we knew each other too well.

You’d take advantage of my weakness, and I would take advantage of yours;

but darling, I still love you, and you still love me, anyway.

“You’re scared, aren’t you?”

“What? No I’m not! Shut up!”

I liked how you’d say what the ending is whenever I read a book, that surprisingly, you have read before me.

And you’d tell me who dies, or who gets to stay, or who the main character ends up with.

But even so, I’d still continue reading, and you’d be there by my side, reading beside me.

“Juliette ends up with Warner on the third book”

“Oh my–Luke! What is wrong with you?”

I liked how sometimes, you went too far as to make me cry.

I don’t know how or why, but I just like it.

Maybe it was because you’d apologize even though it was my fault, just so I would stop crying.

Maybe it was because, you’d hold me close and whisper repetitively in my ear, ‘I love you’ and ‘I’m sorry’.

Maybe it was because, you were afraid you’d gone too far, as for me to finally walk out of your life.

But darling, I’d never do such a thing.

You’ll never go too far, because for you, and only for you, I’ve erased all lines you could’ve crossed, I’ve already pushed all the limits you could’ve pushed,

I’ve forgotten all the boundaries I’ve ever made,

just for you,

and only for you.

So what does that mean? What do mean?

What do I want to imply?

That you’re the one who couldn’t take me.

You’re the one who couldn’t stand me.

You’re the one who gave up on me.

Because darling, I’d never give up on you, I’d never have a reason to do so.

Yes, I’m blaming you.

I’m blaming you for losing me,

I’m blaming you for leaving my life.

I’m blaming you for not trying hard enough.

I’m blaming you for letting me go.

I’m blaming you for letting us go.

 

Leave a comment